Microbial control from crush to malolactic fermentation

Microbial control
from crush to malolactic fermentation

 


THE WEBINAR IS OVER!

TO DOWNLOAD THE IN-DEPTH MATERIALS AND REVIEW THE WEBINAR, FILL IN THE REGISTRATION FORM HERE NEXT


TUESDAY 30 JUNE

04.00 p.m. WEST – Portugal
05.00 p.m. CEST – Italy – Germany – Austria – Spain – Hungary
06.00 p.m. EEST – Greece
08.00 a.m. PT – California Time

 

This webinar aims to provide scientific and practical information for helping winemakers to evaluate if their microbial control strategy in place for the harvest period is correct or can be improved.

 


PROGRAM

Wine microorganisms: opportunities, threats and control

An overview on classic and new applications of microorganisms in winemaking, the risks related to the uncontrolled development of the main Non-Saccharomyces yeast and bacteria, an introduction to the main strategies for controlling wine microorganisms with SO2, chitosan and Non-Saccharomyces yeast as bioprotective tools.

Paola DOMIZIO
PhD Assistant Professor at University of Florence, Italy

Microbial Control with Chitosan During Harvest

Microbial control techniques have immeasurably contributed to the global improvement of wine quality. Sulfur dioxide (SO2) has long been the additive of choice for preventing microbial spoilage, but with increasing incidences of microbial resistance to SO2 and consumer demand for low SO2 wines, it is imperative that winemakers explore alternative additives. EnartisStab MICRO (chitosan) is a natural product derived from Aspergillus Niger, which possess antimicrobial and antioxidant properties. This section of the presentation will review the practical application of chitosan in preventing microbial spoilage, referencing real life examples of its application through harvest and vinification.

Lauren BARRETT
Winemaking Specialist Enartis USA

Path to Quality: Microbial Control Protocols

Instructions for use of chitosan in white vinification, red vinification, production of wine with spontaneous fermentation, moldy grapes, low SO2 wines etc. Examples of practical applications during winemaking production processes taking in consideration reference dosages and underlining proper applicative conditions.

Gianni TRIULZI
Research and Development Manager Enartis

FREE WEBINAR – ENGLISH LANGUAGE ONLY